Camera and Television

Have questions about CoD/UO mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

Scorpion
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 39
Joined: November 18th, 2007, 9:14 pm
Location: Burnley,United Kingdom

Camera and Television

Post by Scorpion » April 18th, 2009, 7:39 pm

Hello

I was thinking is it possible to create a Camera (possibly something like TDM Intermission) that shows onto a Television.

For CODUO

How would i do this?

Thanks :roll:

Soviet
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 7760
Joined: April 23rd, 2005, 9:12 pm
Location: Plano, Texas
Contact:

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Soviet » April 18th, 2009, 8:07 pm

Pretty sure it isn't possible, wait for Drofder or NM to respond before giving up hope though.
Image
ImageImageImage
Image
"Zaitsev is a cunt." - Pedsdude

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Drofder2004 » April 18th, 2009, 10:23 pm

Isn't possible.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

User avatar
Nightmare
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: January 12th, 2006, 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Nightmare » April 19th, 2009, 3:54 am

Nothing else I can really add on.
You could always make an animated texture to give the illusion of an active screen, but that would be pretty complex.
Coding is Poetry. Mapping is Art.
"Cause im the sexiest mapper ever...except for nm, that sexy man" - Soviet

-=[CoDJumper.com Movies]=-
[Ambush] || [Backlot] || [Bloc] || [Bog] || [Broadcast] || [Chinatown] || [Countdown]
[Crash] || [Creek] || [Crossfire] || [District] || [Downpour] || [Killhouse] || [Overgrown]
[Pipeline] || [Shipment & Wetwork] || [Showdown] || [Strike] || [Vacant]

Scorpion
CJ Wannabe
CJ Wannabe
Posts: 39
Joined: November 18th, 2007, 9:14 pm
Location: Burnley,United Kingdom

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Scorpion » April 19th, 2009, 12:28 pm

Thanks for the Replys

:cry:

BatterY
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 238
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 10:27 pm

Re: Camera and Television

Post by BatterY » March 16th, 2010, 5:24 pm

Sorry for the truth but i just want to know one thing: You thought something like in Duke Nukem 3D ? :D

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Pedsdude » March 16th, 2010, 7:49 pm

:lol:
Image
Image

User avatar
Hoogie
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 3974
Joined: September 2nd, 2008, 10:22 am
Location: Holland

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Hoogie » March 16th, 2010, 8:15 pm

Rofl @ that pic.
-=[[CoDJumper.com Movies]]=-
[[Ambush]] || [[Backlot]] || [[Bloc]] || [[Bog]] || [[Broadcast]] || [[Chinatown]] || [[Countdown]]
[[Crash]] || [[Creek]] || [[Crossfire]] || [[District]] || [[Downpour]] || [[Killhouse]] || [[Overgrown]]
[[Pipeline]] || [[Shipment & Wetwork]] || [[Showdown]] || [[Strike]] || [[Vacant]]


A woman can fake an orgasm, but a man can fake an entire relationship

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Drofder2004 » March 16th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Nunquam quoque tardus

Google just made that picture a just a slight amount better :D
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Camera and Television

Post by megazor » March 30th, 2010, 4:45 am

making TV in a map is easy!
Here are the things you need:
1. a GIF animation file.
2. A program that can save EACH frame of the GIF.

After making all the frames saved as textures (I recommend using DDS format), you will want to open Radiant.

Now create as many the same brushes as many frames you have, so that they make up the whole film.
Afterwards put all the textures on all the "frames". Use "Fit Texture" function.
If you have many frames, it will take pretty long time, but how nicely it will be looking afterwards!
Done? now select all the "frames" and turn them all into a script_brushmodel.
If you want the animation to be played by a trigger, make one.
The last thing you should do is learning the frame's length (a SINGLE frame, not all taken together).

Here we're ending the mapping part and starting the scripting one.
I assume you are familiar with the scripting.

there are several ways to animate the thing you have just created. I advise you to follow the way below:

using a "for" loop:

Code: Select all

animation = getent("animation", "targetname");
trig = getent("anim_trigger", "targetname");

while(1)
{
	trig waittill ("trigger");

	for (i = 0; i < 200; i++)	//it assumes your animation consists of 200 frames.
	{
		animation.origin += (0, 100, 0);	//it immediately shows the next frame by the means of a momentary motion the brushmodel along the axis Y on 100 units, which are the frame's length. (this example assumes the length is 100)
		wait 0.1;	//delay between two frames.
	}
	animation.origin = (0, 0, 0);	//after playback, returns the animation to the start point.
}
By the way, this example assumes that the animation moves along the axis Y. if you want it to move to another side, use the negative value of the length.
If you want it to move along the axis X, use
animation.origin += (frame's length, 0, 0);

If you want it to move along the axis Z, use
animation.origin += (0, 0, frame's length);

I added that to my map, and it looked really nice.
Last edited by megazor on June 7th, 2011, 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Drofder2004 » March 30th, 2010, 1:20 pm

You could also use animated textures. (take a look at the tracks on a tank, they are animated textures, not animated models...)
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Camera and Television

Post by megazor » April 1st, 2010, 2:27 am

Excuse me, but I haven't got what the camera system the subject author described is -.-

It's possible to make a movie, as well as making a spawning in a certain place as a spectator. If it's necessary to move the spectator, link it to script_model and use motion things.

Though I probably nevertheless have a wrong idea about the system. Therefore can anyone explain me?

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Pedsdude » April 1st, 2010, 3:34 am

megazor wrote:Excuse me, but I haven't got what the camera system the subject author described is -.-

It's possible to make a movie, as well as making a spawning in a certain place as a spectator. If it's necessary to move the spectator, link it to script_model and use motion things.

Though I probably nevertheless have a wrong idea about the system. Therefore can anyone explain me?
Just think of it as him wanting an actual CCTV camera, showing what's going on in view of the camera (e.g. multiple people moving, firing weapons, etc.). It's not possible.
Image
Image

User avatar
Rezil
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: July 24th, 2006, 11:21 am
Location: Cramped in a small cubicle/making another jump map

Re: Camera and Television

Post by Rezil » April 1st, 2010, 2:02 pm

Not possible. Try DUKENUKEM3DEDITOR.exe :P
Drofder2004: Drofder's rules for reviewing a map
[...]
#5 If your name is Rezil, minimum 5/5.
---
<LT>YosemiteSam[NL]:
I heard somewhere that the best way to start is juggling 2 balls with one hand, so you will get a feel for it.

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Camera and Television

Post by megazor » April 2nd, 2010, 5:40 am

CCTV... if he's going to make it record everything what is going on, it's impossible, of course.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests