Snow, how?

Have questions about CoD2 mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

Post Reply
Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Snow, how?

Post by Pedsdude » December 18th, 2006, 3:16 am

How? :)

I've tried a few scripts from MODSonline but have been unsuccessful thus far. Please show me the light!
Image
Image

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » December 18th, 2006, 3:27 am

Check out the stock maps and looki inside the _fx gsc's.
Remember, snow only works in Dx9.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Post by Pedsdude » December 18th, 2006, 4:04 am

Had a look at mp_downtown gscs, and I came up with this code:

Code: Select all

main()
{
maps\mp\_load::main();
thread precacheFX();
thread ambientFX();
}

precacheFX()
{
level._effect["snow_light"] = loadfx ("fx/misc/snow_light_mp_downtown.efx");	
level._effect["cold_breath"] = loadfx ("fx/misc/cold_breath.efx");
}


ambientFX()
{
	//Snow
	maps\mp\_fx::loopfx("snow_light", (0,0,0), 0.6, (0,0,0));
}
The map loads fine, but no snow appears. I'm not sure what values the co-ords should be:

Code: Select all

	maps\mp\_fx::loopfx("snow_light", (0,0,0), 0.6, (0,0,0));
So I just put them all as zero :?

In the mp_downtown gsc it has the following:

Code: Select all

	maps\mp\_fx::loopfx("snow_light", (1635,-1393,375), 0.8, (1635,-1393,475));
Image
Image

User avatar
Nightmare
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: January 12th, 2006, 10:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightmare » December 18th, 2006, 4:07 am

are you running on DX 9?
Coding is Poetry. Mapping is Art.
"Cause im the sexiest mapper ever...except for nm, that sexy man" - Soviet

-=[CoDJumper.com Movies]=-
[Ambush] || [Backlot] || [Bloc] || [Bog] || [Broadcast] || [Chinatown] || [Countdown]
[Crash] || [Creek] || [Crossfire] || [District] || [Downpour] || [Killhouse] || [Overgrown]
[Pipeline] || [Shipment & Wetwork] || [Showdown] || [Strike] || [Vacant]

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Post by Pedsdude » December 18th, 2006, 4:13 am

Nightmare wrote:are you running on DX 9?
Thank you for that useful response. Yes I am...
Image
Image

Pedsdude
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15909
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:18 pm
Location: UK

Post by Pedsdude » December 18th, 2006, 4:20 am

OK, I used the ones for mp_downtown and it worked! It was everywhere! :)

Code: Select all

	maps\mp\_fx::loopfx("snow_light", (465, 2, 144), 0.6, (-11246,-7164,530));
	maps\mp\_fx::loopfx("snow_light", (468, 3, 261), 0.6, (-7352,-7369,530));
Do I need both lines? Can I change the co-ords and if so what would they need to be changed to (if they need to be changed at all?) What do they represent? Is it an area in which the snow appears or something else?

So many questions, so little time! :P
Image
Image

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Post by Drofder2004 » December 18th, 2006, 9:41 pm

All zeros wouldn't work. the coordinates are used to work out direction, if a - b = 0 then a direction of zero is applied to the FX (i.e No direction, meaning no FX)... following?

Anyway, there are several problems with snow and I am not 100% sur how they are dealt with, but snow goes through obejcts, like buildings and such, but there is a way to stop it (i think).

you need to play with the coordinates to get the perfect FX.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests