Texture question

Have questions about CoD4 mapping that aren't covered in the tutorials section? Post here!

Moderator: Core Staff

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 6th, 2012, 3:14 pm

No, that didn't work.

Its odd because out of 5 triggers in my map, only these two don't work. And they're in the same room, and both of them are traps. (it's a deathrun map).


Would you like to see anything to fix the problem?

User avatar
Drofder2004
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 13313
Joined: April 13th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: Texture question

Post by Drofder2004 » September 7th, 2012, 12:22 am

If you are NOT getting errors, then we can assume the entities are fine.
So, next thing is to test the loop.

Code: Select all

while( isDefined( bounce ) && isDefined( trig ) )
{
   setDvar("Error", "Before");
   trig waittill( "trigger" , player );
   setDvar("Error", "After");
This will test to see if the trigger is actually being triggered.
Make sure you have "developer" set to 1 and look at your console before and after pressing the trigger.
When you load, before you click the trigger type "/error" in console and make sure it states "before".
Then press the trigger and check "/error" again, it should state "after".

---

If you get "after" then we can assume the trigger is working. So, next remove the "if player isdefined" stuff and just print straight to the level, do not print to the player.

Report back when done.
Image
Virgin Media 20Mb Broadband:
"Perfect for families going online at the same time, downloading movies, online gaming and more."
Borked internet since: 22-07-2010

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Texture question

Post by megazor » September 7th, 2012, 2:20 am

Try and recompile your map.

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 7th, 2012, 5:20 am

I did that, but that didn't work.

One odd thing is when i compile the bsp, it finishes in like 5 or 6 seconds if I don't make any changes to my map. Is it suppose to happen?

Its weird because the trigger was actually working before, and now its not.

User avatar
Koj
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 67
Joined: July 1st, 2010, 3:05 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Texture question

Post by Koj » September 7th, 2012, 7:14 am

darkpheonixz4x wrote:I did that, but that didn't work.

One odd thing is when i compile the bsp, it finishes in like 5 or 6 seconds if I don't make any changes to my map. Is it suppose to happen?

Its weird because the trigger was actually working before, and now its not.

Sometimes Cod4Radiant dont accept when u change the the size or the possition of the trigger
Happens to me many times -.-
Try to delete and add a new one...
Image

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 7th, 2012, 7:42 am

I tried what you said, but still no luck.

Would you like anything to see that could help resolve my problem?! It's really frustrating.

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Texture question

Post by megazor » September 7th, 2012, 9:01 am

send us your map

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 7th, 2012, 9:26 am

Do you want the .map or the .ff? Along with the script?

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Texture question

Post by megazor » September 7th, 2012, 10:26 am

send everything :)

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 7th, 2012, 10:51 am

I have attached the .map and .gsc
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Goro92
CJ Spammer!
CJ Spammer!
Posts: 605
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 5:54 pm
Location: Brescia, Italy

Re: Texture question

Post by Goro92 » September 7th, 2012, 12:07 pm

delete the caulk brush under the trigger, or make it bigger
Image

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Texture question

Post by megazor » September 7th, 2012, 1:43 pm

Yes, do it. Looks like your trigger is conflicting with another brush. By the way, your woldspawn has a targetname "decision_trap3_trig" :-)

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 8th, 2012, 5:33 am

Wow thanks! It was the caulk! I replaced it with clip and it worked fine :)

My next concern is that I made misc/model and chose a xmodel. I need it to move in my map, so i tried to make it a script/model.

It gave this error message: Entity NOT created, can't make a point entity out of brushes

Any ideas of what to do?

Its really important that the model moves.

megazor
CJ Worshipper
CJ Worshipper
Posts: 414
Joined: July 22nd, 2009, 3:02 am
Location: Russia, Vladivostok

Re: Texture question

Post by megazor » September 8th, 2012, 7:48 am

Don't touch misc/model if you want it movable. Just use script/model.

darkpheonixz4x
CJ Newbie
CJ Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: July 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: Texture question

Post by darkpheonixz4x » September 8th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Great I did that! But here comes the next error :P

Code: Select all

trap_3()
{
 toilet1 = getEnt("trap3_toilet1","targetname");
 toilet2 = getEnt("trap3_toilet2","targetname");
 toilet3 = getEnt("trap3_toilet3","targetname");
 trig = getEnt("decision_trap3_trig","targetname");
{
 trig waittill ("trigger");

 toilet1 movex(60,3,0,0);
 toilet2 movex(60,3,0,0);
 toilet3 movex(60,3,0,0);

}

}
Here's the script for my 3rd trap and a screenshot of my key/values of the trigger.

I get a script runtime error for "trig waittill ("trigger")".

What do i do?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests